What is the DVSA?

The Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency (DVSA) was formed from a merger of the Driving Standards Agency (DSA) and Vehicle and Operator Services Agency (VOSA).

The DVSA is a government agency which is responsible for improving road safety in Great Britain by setting standards for driving and motorcycling, and making sure drivers, vehicle operators and MOT garages understand and follow roadworthiness standards. It also provides a range of licensing, testing, education and enforcement services.

An Approved Driving Instructor (or ADI) is a driving instructor who has successfully passed a rigorous examination process and registered by the DVSA.


Overview of the DVSA


Summary of ADI Qualifying Process:

To be entered on the Register of ADIs, the instructor must:

  • Hold a full UK or European Union (EU/European Economic Area) (EEA) unrestricted car driving license
  • Have held it for a total of at least four out of the past six years prior to entering the Register after qualifying
  • Not have been disqualified from driving at any time in the four years prior to being entered in the Register
  • Be a "fit and proper" person; all convictions are taken into account when entering his/her name on the register, and enhanced level criminal record check is required
  • Pass two qualifying practical examinations within two years of passing the theory examination
  • Apply for registration within 12 months of passing the final part of the examination.

The qualifying examination is in 3 parts:

  • Theory (Part 1) - a multiple choice section and a video-based hazard perception section
  • Driving ability (Part 2) - an eyesight test followed by a practical test of driving technique
  • Instructional ability (Part 3) - a practical test of your ability to instruct

All three parts of the examination must be passed in this order and must be completed within two years of passing the theory test (Part 1).

Link Website link: DVSA Guidance